Mission Statement

To develop confident, ethical and well-rounded individuals who successfully shape an ever changing environment.

Vision Statement

To be the role model for holistic development, nurturing responsible, productive and independent citizens.

Leadership Team


Allana-Richards LT-DH Ms-Allum Deborah-de-la-Rosa Jacqueline-Hyancenth


Prep Teachers

Amanda-Oliver   maria felix   KNancoo

Shalto-Doorje   Kelli-Laurence   Teacher SR

Upper School Teachers

Valerie-Stuart-Joseph TPerouze   MMartin    Chad-Hackett  AJones  NCLaurence

SRichards  LWalcott  LSerrette






Teacher AN  Rachelle-Ming-Hon  PRoberts  MDuncan  AAllen  CQGeorges

Associate Teachers

  Assoc AD  Sheryl-Ann-Embleton   Assoc DC   KPaul  LDubarry  Rawlins




Natalie-Noel Evarhea-Wilson-Maynard Victoria-Downes  CStephens

Maureena-Joshua-Joseph     Leslie-George



Board Members 

Chairman:  Ms Esther Best
Dr Phaedra Pierre
Ms Joanne Shurland
Mrs Dawn Hackett
Mrs Belinda James
Mr Glenn Goddard
Mr Robert Welsh
Mrs Shannon Keens-Douglas
Mr Bertram Blackman
Ms Rhonda Julian


Bishop Arthur Henry Anstey, an Englishman and fourth Bishop of Trinidad and Tobago, did much for our country, both spiritually and educationally. He was instrumental in establishing Bishop Anstey High School in 1921 with which the Junior Department later became associated when, in 1939, a small private Kindergarten, housed in the Victoria Institute, found itself without a headmistress. The wife of the Colonial Secretary suggested the school should be incorporated into Bishop Anstey High School. This suggestion was implemented and the children were soon housed in two large rooms, in a newly-built two-storey block, which was dedicated on February 2, 1940, by His Lordship the Bishop. Miss Richards became teacher-in-charge under the headship of Miss Dorothy C. Shrewsbury of the High School. The Kindergarten evolved into a small junior section of the main school. Miss Christine Sutherland took over the reins as headmistress of both the High School and the Junior School in 1950. When Bishop Anstey High School ceased to be strictly private and began to receive Government assistance, it became necessary for the Junior Section to run separately under its own headmistress. Miss Monica Eardley-Wilmot was appointed and held the post from 1959-1965. The school maintained very high standards of conduct and academic performance. The next and first Caribbean headmistress was Mrs. Mona K. Georges. It was she who had the onerous task of supervising the moving of the Junior School in September of 1966 to its own building on the present site, the Monte Cristo estate in St. Ann’s. Here the school expanded rapidly facilitating the education of boys and girls from Kindergarten to Form 5. New buildings were erected and a secondary department started. This eventually moved to Stanmore Avenue and became the Bishop’s Centenary College in 1972, a privately run institution.

About Us

BAJS Wall of Honour

Exemplary citizens

(in alphabetical order)


Etienne Charles       1987-1994 (Student)
Joanne Decle          1952-1957 (Student)
John Hayes            1979-1985 (Student)
Gabrielle Hezekiah    1969-1977 (Student)
Christine Ince        1971-1998 (Service)
Rita Inniss           1966-1993 (Service)
Paul Jenkins          1973-1995 (Service)
Dominique Le Gendre   1965-1972 (Student)
Angela Nicholls       1963-1977 (Service)
Marielle Ottley       1997-2006 (Service)
Phaedra Pierre        1969-1976 (Student)
Natalie Rogers        1967-1973 (Student)
Ayleen Thomson        1933-1939 (Student)
Lorraine Van Druten   1979-2009 (Service)
Michael White         1982-2014 (Service)

Outstanding Students

Dane Jones                 1997
Christine Hannays          1998
Andrew Hoyte               1998
Sonia Ria Willams          1998
Sonel Rowley               1999
Eniola Yeates              1999
Stefan Lashley             2000


Outstanding Students (continued)

Tiffany Mitchell       2000
Christianne Elcock     2001
Ann-Marie Ming Hon     2001
Kiran Pereira          2001
Keva Stephens          2001
Stefon Khan            2002
Ruth Porther           2002
Zakiya-Tuere Savary    2002
Denine Cheesman        2003
Masika Lewis           2003
Fayola Fraser          2004
Damara Marshall        2004
Victory Bosland        2005
Emily Durity           2005
Christian Roberts      2005
Chaya La Pierre        2006
Zara Suite-Stewart     2006
Astrid Casimire        2007
Khalea Robertson       2007
Alicia Singh           2008
Gabriella Williams     2008
Jamie Lee Young        2009
Daniel Roberts         2009
Aliya Ross-Dick        2009
Charity Gregoire       2010
Laurelle Lee Young     2010
Kiran Sukdeo           2011


Candidates must meet ALL of the following criteria.


1.   Either attended BAJS

OR served on the BAJS staff / Board for a period of ten years or longer

2.  Made a significant contribution in one or more of the following areas-

  •  Education
  • Health
  • Government
  • Law
  • Culture (music, art, dance, entertainment)
  • Sport
  • Business
  • National & social development
  • Religion

3.  Be of exemplary character to be considered a role model

4. Have given back to the School or be prepared to give back to the School by way of time, talent or treasure

Nominations must:

– Be signed and dated by the person who is nominating the individual

– Include a one page biography outlining the contribution made by the nominee

-Identify the years they attended or served at BAJS

-Include contact details for both the nominee and the nominator

-Be returned by December 2nd, 2016

-Be addressed to The Principal, Bishop Anstey Junior School, Monte Cristo, Ariapita Road, St. Anns

– Or by email: tschuler@bajs.edu.tt

ALL nominations will be reviewed by the 50th Anniversary Celebrations Panel whose decision will be final. 


Alumni Association


Our Alumni Association is in the process of being re-established. If you are interested in finding out how you can assist or in serving in any capacity, please do send an email to:
















Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Google Plus